The Departments

Departments are the University’s organizational units that run scientific research, teaching and training activities. They belong to at least one School.

Among their tasks as stipulated by the University Statute, Departments are to:

  • Approve a plan of research and define the goals to be attained;
  • Approve a three-year teaching plan;
  • Activate, modify and de-activate degree programmes and professional development activities (PhDs, Masters, Post-graduate Programmes);
  • Apply for posts to be filled and professors/researchers to be appointed;
  • Establish the teaching duties of teaching staff and researchers;
  • Support the work of administrative/management staff appointed to the department.


Department Organs are the Board, Director and Committee.

In ruling 4.1 of 23rd April 2012 the University Council defined three criteria for Departments belonging to Schools (cohesion, size and affinity of discipline) in application of Law 240/2010.

Listed below are the Departments belonging to the School, activated according to Law 240/2010:

The Department belonging to the School of Law is the Department of Legal Science - DSG, which is also the School’s reference department for all its Degree Programmes.

The Department of Economic Science - DSE is an associate department for the First-cycle Degree Programme ‘Company and Public Administration Lawyer’ and for the Single-cycle Degree Programme in Law at the Bologna Campus.